top of page
  • Writer's pictureJust Jase

Whoopity-scoop, whoop-poop

So… Sorry for the wait.


Last week, I was dealing with some stuff that needed to get straightened out. Despite my efforts, it didn't happen the way I wanted, but that's how life be sometimes.


Yesterday was just really busy.


I met my family in Wichita for lunch and the afternoon. We had lunch and drove around and shopped.


Question: If not everybody who works at a Christian business is a Christian themselves, why can’t they work the Sunday shift?


¯\_(ツ)_/¯


Well, Mardel didn’t get any money from me but Best Buy did. I did myself (and those who contact me) the favor of upgrading to a new phone. Before, my phone was so slow, it wouldn’t ring half the time when someone tried calling me. For the half that it did, it would ring but the screen wouldn’t load, making me miss calls while I was holding the phone waiting to accept the call. I know. Weird. It would also randomly restart on me, clearing all my background tasks. I missed some classes and showed up at work late because of all these things. Another thing it did after restarting was it would read my external SD card as corrupted. Thankfully, it didn’t actually corrupt my SD card. So, to fix it, I had to restart it yet again.


:P


But all that’s behind me. Now I have a phone that actually loads decently fast. One thing it does that’s weird is have text messages ring a song instead of a ringtone. Like an entire song. It’s embarrassing but I’d rather have that happen then any of the things my S7 did.


Anyone else find it strange that phones last about as long as the contract that comes with them?


Yes? Cool.


So, that was part of my excuse. The rest of it was because, that evening, that evening and into late last night, I worked. I set up and ran sound for an O-Staff event and took video for it for Marketing.


That's a lot to get your head wrapped around, so let me back up.


Last time you read from me, I was working a lot doing housekeeping at Sterling College.


I quit.


I was in an interesting spot. I am volunteering again for O-Staff, which is short for Orientation Staff. It’s composed of students who volunteer to help the college organize and put on events for incoming students and transfers as well as returners in the weeks leading up to classes in addition to helping the offices with this surge of work.


That requires my summer to end early, and, in turn, my summer job. This was fine. I’m not the first person to do this. It’s how the pay periods work at the college. Their employees get paid monthly with the pay period ending the last Friday of the month and beginning the next day. O-Staff students returned to campus the Monday of the first full week of August, leaving me a week to either continue working in housekeeping or just chill out.


The secretary of Student Life was nice enough to let summer students get our room keys for our rooms for the school year the day RAs came back, which was the Thursday of that in-between week. That was nice. We were able to move and get settled in that day and weekend instead of having nothing to do all weekend and doing it all when everyone else did the following Monday.


My original plan was to work through the day before but things were getting too stressful for me to motivate myself to work those three days.


Don’t think I got bored. Nope. I started a new job instead. I started working in the Marketing department at the college.


I like it way better. Not only do I get to not deep clean a building four times in less than three months for no reason, but I get to work with one of my best friends all day. Granted, I’m part-time and he’s full-time, but we pretty much hung out all week.


Now that orientation has officially started, I have been busy. I’m working three jobs and doing things on the side. I am working at Dillons and doing tech and marketing for the college, which are technically two separate jobs. I am also helping Campbell with their RA intro video. I am shooting and editing it. To be honest, I’ve been away from Genius more than I would like to admit but it just hasn’t been a complete priority lately. I do things here and there though. So, my hands are full. It’s good though. A bit stressful at times but still good.


I am realizing more and more about how flawed I am. I no doubt know that I make mistakes and that is a fact that will never change but I am constantly having my eyes open to how many ways that is happening. I am doing my best to overcome these things but it’s not without their own struggles.


I’ve also been getting more compliments from people. It’s weird typing that because of how much people have been reminding me of the things happening in the previous paragraph but there are those who decide to point out the positive despite my flaws, and it honestly feels weird. I am not used to being complimented.


I’m typically the guy who does the thankless jobs. They’re the type of jobs that people only notice when I do a bad job, and they let me know about it too. So, people not saying anything about my work is sometimes a thank you in and of itself.


Still though, people who choose to compliment me anyway invoke a strange feeling inside me. It’s almost as though I don’t deserve their praise. I mean, I don’t. I do my best to direct it to God but I fail at that too. Normally, I disown their praise in an attempt to rub it off, but I now know that that is rude.


I know who God says I am. I just need to see it for myself and accept it. The people who see it and voice themselves seeing it are helping, but it just feels weird.


I don’t know.


I’ve also noticed that I wave to a lot of people and people don’t always like waving.


It’s sad.


I also notice that I talk a lot.


Oof…


That’s about all that’s new with me.


Time to get to storyboarding.


I’m deucin’ out.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Remember, Remember

I don’t know what it was about me that renamed all those other posts lyrics from Kanye West but it lasted way longer than I thought it would. I think even he got sick of it and made his Christian albu

Whoop-diddy-scoop, poop

Hey, everyone. As promised, here is this bi-week’s post. I didn’t get any suggestions as to what this post should be about on my Facebook post, so I’ll just give y’all an update. Well, if you didn’t a

Whoop-diddy-scoop

Hey, everyone. Sorry for not posting last Sunday. This week is literally my busiest week of the semester work-wise. I’m literally worked every night except for Thursday but that was because I was forc

bottom of page